Moise Levy, MD, Begins Term as President of ABD Board of Directors

Moise L. Levy, MD, of Austin, TX, will serve as President of the ABD Board of Directors from January-June 2023.

Dr. Levy was the inaugural Physician-in-Chief and chief of pediatric dermatology at Dell Children’s Medical Center, where he currently practices pediatric/adolescent dermatology. He is a professor in the departments of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine (Dermatology) at the University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School.

Dr. Levy is certified in dermatology and pediatric dermatology by the ABD and is certified in pediatrics by the American Board of Pediatrics. He is participating in ABD continuing certification. In addition to general pediatric dermatology, Dr. Levy has a special interest in genetic skin diseases, birthmarks, and neonatal skin disorders.

Usually, Presidents and Vice Presidents of the ABD Board of Directors serve one-year terms in their final year on the Board. However, in June 2022, the Board of Directors changed the month when terms begin to July instead of January. The Directors meet in person only once a year, and since that meeting is in June, they aligned their terms to allow face-to-face greeting of new members and celebration of service by members completing their terms.

Dr. Levy will be succeeded in July by Carl V. Washington, MD, of Decatur, GA. Dr. Washington’s clinical expertise is in Mohs Surgery for the management of skin cancer, and the treatment of patients with melanoma and high-risk pigmented lesions.

He is certified by the ABD in general dermatology and in micrographic dermatologic surgery and is participating in continuing certification.

He and Dr. Levy both joined the Board of Directors in 2015. Their terms will expire in June 2024.  

The ABD Board of Directors comprises 16 volunteer dermatologists, one public Member, one Young Diplomate Observer member, and 2 directors-elect. Dermatologist members serve nine-year terms and are elected one year before their term starts, allowing them time to observe the Board’s operations and responsibilities before becoming voting members.





Moise Levy, MD, of Austin, TX, heads the Board of Directors through June 2023